A Day in the Life: A Call to Action

Jayme Linton, who is a leader for #nced, posted an interesting call-to-action in the #nced Voxer group this morning (shameless promotional plug; check out Voxer here!) I found it phenomenal to say the least, as well as good timing due to circumstances I find myself in. Not to mention, at 7AM this morning, I was having serious writers-block.

The call-to-action pertained to sharing “A Day in the Life” of each individual within the group. We would each share throughout the day, or coming days, “a day in the life” (including the good, the bad, and the inspirational!) Within the group, there are educators with varied roles – educators who choose to act at the University level, and within the Title I realm. Educators who choose to lead an entire group of Secondary Schools, a school itself, or those choosing to lead wide-eyed students.

My initial response was “YES! Jayme. You are spot on today!” (…well, she is spot on everyday, so today was just another day of inspiration in the books!)

It wasn’t until further reflection that I truly understood what this meant to me, and what it means to YOU.

I became overwhelmed (in a good way!) with the idea that we’re one cohesive team here in North Carolina, and that in itself is truly remarkable. With the media serving, at times, to shed light on the negative components encountered in our Public Ed. realm, it can seem rather dismal to be a part of this fight. Yet this call-to-action proves to us, more than ever, the good of sharing the positives and realities of our realm. In one aspect, it develops a sense of advocacy for our students and teachers. In another part, it provides me comfort to know such incredible individuals, with unwavering passion, have been chosen daily to lead for the betterment of our students’ education (because lets be real. You don’t choose education, education chooses YOU.)

Further yet, Jayme’s call-to-action means we as teachers can not take the role of standing back and letting others lead our students. We must choose daily to be the ones strong enough to stand up for what we believe is right for this Generation Z, and what we believe is right for all teachers in the field. By choosing to not share the positives, by not sharing the realities of our daily work, we are choosing to not be a part of the team fighting the good fight.

To digress, I am currently facing a difficult time in my career as I am having to face the possibility of relocating unexpectedly (full transparency you all. I’m an emotional wreck as of recent due to such.) All details aside, I myself find it difficult because I believe full heartedly in the leadership of my present community, and the vision which has been developed. I have witnessed a change in students, and I believe in the direction we are headed for them. I tweeted out a quote today which adequately sums up my belief on a shared vision:

Screen Shot 2015-04-02 at 11.54.59 AM

It is true. I feel so called to the unwavering vision, the road which we are paving in our own system; the “could” has become a transformative “can.” CBl12ltW4AAHvZB.jpg-largeYet, despite the road I am at, I have found a sense of comfort through the simple call-to-action this morning. It reminds me that no matter where I may be within NC (or in the world for that matter) we are all part of this “team.” The team which chooses to find a better way to stimulate game-changing ideas, raise the bar, and push to create a servant community dedicated to our students best-interest. As my Superintendent shared today, may we choose to be committed to what matters most for our students (you all need to follow her here; transformative leader alert!)

To Jayme Linton, #nced, #leadupchat, and Sean Gaillard, I say THANK YOU. Thank you for the inspiration today and the reminder that we are all in this together, no matter where we may be.

I needed to hear that.

My parting hashtag or article for today? I don’t have one (other than those I’ve tagged.) Rather, I challenge you all to the call-of-action by Jayme. Share “A Day in the Life” with those around you; advocate for your profession, and most importantly, your students.

We are all on the same team, so may we choose to serve such with the boldness that is now needed more than ever before.

RML

2 thoughts on “A Day in the Life: A Call to Action

  1. “We are all on the same team,” <–YES! I'm at a school where, for the last couple of years we've been insulated from all the high-stakes testing craziness, and so my colleagues- while concerned for the profession, do not feel the urgency of what's happening to our profession and to public ed, in general. I think it's partly the effects of our individualistic culture on teachers to self-preserve, shut their doors, and to not see that we're all in this together, and for principals to keep their families feeling proud of their child's school rather than give them facts about what's happening, globally, to public ed and that it matter to their children and to the children of their children. Oh, man, look at me writing a winded response. I'm fired up. Damn you. ;o)

  2. What a powerful insight Rachel. The networks and teams that you belong to are so much stronger because YOU are in them.

Leave a Reply

