What it Means to be an Edu-Hero.

Shame on me, but I wasn’t accountable for yesterdays #aprilblogaday challenge. I ultimately ended up calling it a day at the half-time of the NCAA Tournament (which was a feat in itself to stay up for.) It was the first day back from Spring Break, and I was quickly reminded of the mental and physical exhaustion of teaching.

Apologies dear readers. None-the-less, this post may account for two days of edu-ramblings.

Such being said, I could share about the incredible Problem Based Learning Unit my students are embarking on, or about those “aha” moments I have witnessed daily with my students. But I don’t plan to. I am choosing to ignore all pedagogical technique discussion related to curriculum.

Rather, I am choosing to talk about our “edu-heros.”


I choose to open this post with a question, such being: “what approach do our students undoubtedly need to hear on the “court” of school?”

Here’s my perception. More people saying (and truly embodying) the phrase, “I care about you.” Because this makes more of a difference for a student than anyone can possibly account for in years ahead.

Just think how this could transform our classrooms, no matter the demographic or geographic variables involved. Today, as I am reminded quite often, a simple “I care about you” by more than one educator changes the entire persona of a student. (And who knows, may be the only phrase of similar tone they hear all day.)

And as I reflect on today, I am left wondering what would happen if we had an entire school of cheerleaders for our students? Then I think of the book “QBQ,” which helps one further personal accountability, and I say to myself, “how can I care more? What can I do for my colleagues and students to extend this phrase in all actions?”

Saying “I care about you,” is a loaded phrase that means so much more than those four words. I means holding our students accountable, doing what is in their best interest when they need it (and particularly don’t want it.) It is helping our colleagues so in turn we help all our students (no matter the grade level we teach.) Actively listening. Advocating. Choosing to let our students have a voice, and be heard. Screen Shot 2015-04-07 at 3.54.34 PMBeing present in an era of distraction – all the aforementioned are expressions for “I care about you.”

To all educators out there that embody this phrase, I say this to you, “thank you!” You are truly edu-heros, making a difference each day, and that is to be commended. What you do isn’t easy. It is vulnerable and difficult to care sometimes, but you choosing each day to ask better questions of/for your students has an impact far greater than you may ever know. I often remind myself of a phrase I heard years ago, that the “students that need the most love ask for it the most unloving ways.”

How can we choose to represent that we care so students know that they are loved at school?

I don’t leave with any article or hashtag to follow today. Just a sincere appreciate for all “edu-heros” out there – THANK YOU.

RML

Leave a Reply

